Body
Edit and Reorder Assignments
You can make changes to existing assignments and change where they appear on your Course Content page. Be aware that if you change an existing assignment that students can access, some students may have started their submissions. You can’t change the grading schema if you’ve already started grading.
Select the move icon (six pack) in an assignment’s row and drag it to a new location. You can also move an assignment into a folder.
In an assignment’s row, open the menu to select Edit or Delete.

- Click and hold an item’s move icon (six pack)
- While holding click, drag the item to its new location. If the new location is inside a close module or folder, simply hold the item over it until it opens.
- At the new location, wait for the purple outline to appear, then release. That outline marks where the item will go when you let go, so don't release until you see it.
Delete assignments
You can delete an assignment from your course and if no student submissions exist, the gradebook item is also deleted. For assignments with submissions, you must confirm that you want to permanently remove the assignment, all submissions, and grades from your course.
Or, hide the assignment from students to preserve the submissions and the scores in the Gradebook. Students can’t access hidden assignments on the Course Content page or on their grades pages even if you have graded submissions.
Contact Support
This article was created and is maintained by the Office of Academic Technology.
If you have found an error in this article or need assistance incorporating this article in your course, please contact an Educational Technologist.